Introduction to Record Auditing
Every change made to records in your database is saved. These changes are available on a record-by-record basis through the Record Details View by clicking the Show Log link as shown below:
Comparison History lets you share this same information with your end users through one or more specified modes (such as Respondent Update Mode or through a workflow). When your end users access your form in edit mode, they will see a small icon next to each field with unviewed revision history, and be able to roll over the icon to view a DIFF of the history as shown in this example:
On This Page
- Configuring Global Comparison Settings
- Configuring Field-Level Comparison Settings
- Creating ‘Mark Viewed’ Links and Triggers
Use Global Comparison Settings to configure general comparison settings for your form, and to determine whether comparison history for all fields on the form is enabled or disabled by default using the Enable Comparison History for all fields setting. You can use Field Level Comparison Settings to override the Enable Comparison History for all fields setting on a field-by-field basis.
In the Form Outline panel, select the Root Property Node (the name of the form at the top of the tree).
In the Form Properties panel, expand the Form General Setting section and select Comparison Settings to open the Comparison Settings screen.
Configure Global Comparison Settings as described below, then click the Save button to save your changes.
|Enable Comparison History for all fields||
Disabled by default. When disabled, Comparison History must be enabled on a field-by-field basis using Field General Setting properties. Select to enable Comparison History for all fields in the form.NOTE: When this property is enabled, Comparison History for an individual field can be disabled if desired using Field General Setting properties.
|Ignore Case when comparing||Enabled by default. When enabled, changes in character case (from upper-case to lower-case or vice versa) are ignored during comparison.|
|Ignore whitespace when comparing||Enabled by default. When enabled, changes in spacing between words or characters (increase or decrease) are ignored during comparison.|
|Track Revisions Viewed||
Disabled by default. When enabled, Comparison History is marked ‘Viewed’ when one of two conditions is met:
|Track Revisions viewed Per User||
Disabled by default; used in conjunction with Track Revisions Viewed.
When Track Revisions Viewed and Track Revisions viewed Per User are both enabled, viewed history is tracked on a per-user basis.NOTE: This setting is applicable only when accessing the form/data via a workflow.
|Mark Viewed on View||
Disabled by default; used in conjunction with Track Revisions Viewed.When Track Revisions Viewed and Mark Viewed on View are both enabled, history is marked as viewed once the Comparison History window has been opened.
|Viewed Icon State||Fields that have been revised are denoted by a gray ‘revision’ icon. The Viewed Icon State setting determines whether the ‘revision’ icon for a field with ‘viewed’ Comparison History is shown in Green or is Hidden. Default selection is Green.|
Determines the mode(s) for which Comparison History is enabled. Respondent Update Mode and WorkFlow – Edit Page are selected by default.
When you first define comparison settings, the Enable Comparison History for all fields setting under Global Comparison Settings is inherited by all fields on your form. You can use the Comparison Mode property for a field to override the Enable Comparison History for all fields setting.
In the Form Outline panel, select the field for which you want to configure the Comparison Mode.
In the Field Properties panel, expand the Field General Setting.
Configure the Comparison Mode for the field by selecting the desired option:
Inherit – This is the default selection. The field is enabled or disabled for Comparison History according to the Enable Comparison History for all fields
Enabled – If the Enable Comparison History for all fields setting is disabled, use this selection to enable Comparison History for the field.
Disabled - If the Enable Comparison History for all fields setting is enabled, use this selection to disable Comparison History for the field.
When you configure Comparison History for a form and do not enable the Mark Viewed on View option, you should provide an alternate means to mark the history as viewed. Use either of the following options:
Add one or more Link elements and attach the Mark Comparison History Viewed action to mark Comparison History viewed for a single field, group of fields, or all fields.
Add a Trigger to mark Comparison History viewed after the form is submitted.